NHL Teams

National Hockey League: Teams Roster
The National Hockey League originated in 1917 with six teams, and through a sequence of team expansions, reductions, and relocations currently consists of 30 teams, 24 of which are based in the United States and six in Canada.

The Montreal Canadiens are the most successful franchise with 24 Stanley Cup championships (23 as an NHL team, 1 as an NHA team). The next most successful franchise is the Toronto Maple Leafs with 13 Stanley Cup championships. The Detroit Red Wings, with 11 Stanley Cup championships, are the most successful American franchise. The longest streak of winning the Stanley Cup in consecutive years is five, held by the Montreal Canadiens from 1955–56 to 1959–60; the New York Islanders (1980–1983) and the Montreal Canadiens (1976–1979) have four-year championship streaks.

Of all the major leagues in North America, the NHL is the only league to field teams that play in two countries’ capital cities, Ottawa, Ontario and Washington, D.C.

NHL Eastern Conference
Atlantic Division
Northeast Division
Southeast Division
Devils New Jersey Devils Bruins Boston Bruins Thrashers Winnipeg Jets
NYI New York Islanders Sabres Buffalo Sabres Hurricanes Carolina Hurricanes
NY Rangers New York Rangers Montreal Montreal Canadiens Panthers Florida Panthers
Flyers Philadelphia Flyers Ottawa Senators Ottawa Senators Tampa Bay Lightning Tampa Bay Lightning
Penguins Pittsburgh Penguins Maple Leafs Toronto Maple Leafs Washington Capitals Washington Capitals
NHL Eastern Conference
Central Division
Northwest Division
Pacific Division
Blackhawks Chicago Blackhawks Flames Calgary Flames Ducks Anaheim Ducks
Columbus Columbus Blue Jackets Avalanche Colorado Avalanche Stars Dallas Stars
Red Wings Detroit Red Wings Oilers Edmonton Oilers Kings Los Angles Kings
Predators Nashville Predators Wild Minnesota Wild Phoe Phoenix Coyotes
Blues St. Louis Blues Vancouver Vancouver Canucks San Jose Sharks San Jose Sharks